In my old blog, I would make a list of songs every December just because it’s fun making lists. So here I am again with another one. But I don’t see myself as a music expert so I’m not going to attempt to compile what are the best in the music landscape of the past 12 months. In fact, some of the songs have been released even before 2014.

Instead, this list is my soundtrack of 2014. These are songs that, for one reason or another, have etched themselves into my mind that whenever I hear them, I remember certain personal events that happened this year. In other words, this list is composed of songs that — for better or worse — tend to get played often enough to latch onto my memory.

So, let’s get this started.

1. Chinito – Yeng Constantino

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: The first few weeks of the year, when this was continuously played in a children’s birthday party. This also became my soundtrack when we went to Taiwan for a weekend in February.

2. Officially Yours – Craig David

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: Also the early part of this year, when I was still working nightshift as a writer for a BPO company. Whenever my sister drove me to work, her playlist was the same over and over, and this was one of those songs.

3. Stuttering – Mario

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: Same as above. It’s basically my theme song whenever I am with a pretty woman.

4. Domino – Jesse J

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: Still same as above. Yeah, my sister’s playlist really did make a mark on my brain.

5. Paligoy-ligoy – Nadine Lustre

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: My short stint as an online community manager for a digital advertising company. It was during that time Diary ng Panget, which featured this song, was the rage. This also started my fascination with Nadine’s songs, which, I have to admit, are catchy.

6. Turn Up The Love – Far East Movement feat. Cover Drive

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: My final days as an online community manager. Some friends and I danced to this song on the video game Just Dance one Sunday evening and it eventually grew on me.

7. Chocolate – The 1975

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: Early July. A former student introduced this song to me and I got hooked.

8. Alive – Hillsong Young & Free

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: The days immediately after I resigned as a community manager, particularly from late July to early August. The positive lyrics and upbeat tempo were just what I needed to battle what was once a growing depression.

9. More Than Wonderful – Sandi Patti & Larnelle Harris

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: August 2014. Secret.

10. Halika Na – Maja Salvador feat. Abra

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: My bum days, when my life was directionless. I just love the melody.

11. Rude – Magic!

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: The days between the Missions Congress in October and my first days in my new job. Dark days, those were. Yeah, enough said.

12. Maps – Maroon 5

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: My first days in my job as a writer for Valenzuela City’s public information office. It was my earworm at that time.

13. Stay the Night – Zedd feat. Hayley Williams

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: Late November. A friend sang this during a karaoke night and I liked the melody. The next day I downloaded the song into my phone and found myself listening to it again and again.

14. Mary Did You Know – Pentatonix

What Exactly It Reminds Me Of And Why: December. This was the title song of our Christmas cantata, one of the best memories of this year.

Leave a Reply

